Thursday, August 16, 2012

Interesting Information Regarding "Absu" Album From 2001

One of ABSU's old websites originally posted this information regarding the upcoming "Absu" album on January 25th, 2001 (source).

Absu is already composing and arranging the hymns for their 6th release, which shall be self-titled as Absu. This opus will contain extremely fast-paced, yet Sumerian/Mesopotamian lyrically-based hymns, which is something the band has not conceived since Barathrum: V.I.T.R.I.O.L and The Sun of Tiphareth. The band has even decided to go back to using their initial pseudonyms, such as Shaftiel - The Lord of All Shadows, Lord Equitant Alastor, and Emperor Proscriptor Magikus. It seems that the band's immortal essence keeps transpiring from one realm onto the next constantly. The band will try to use Roger Dean, of Yes/Uriah Heep fame, for the cover illustration, but it may be too much for Absu to handle financially. Working song titles thus far are:

---Akhera-Goiti Akhera-Beiti (One Black Opalith For Tomorrow) (new version)
---Immortal Sorcery 2002 (new version)
---They Swarmed Fourth In Their Multitudes And Darkness Ruled The Earth
---Sanga Temple
---In The Name Of Auebothiabathabaithobeaee
---Magick Square Cipher
---Twix Yesterday, Today, And The Morrow
---Our Earth Of Black
---Sceptre Of Command
---Curse Of Agade
---The Last Of Ibbi-Sin
---Of Ye Times And Ye Seasons To Be
---Between The Absu of Eridu And Eresh

So as you can see, the hymns of the album "Absu" had been planned for quite some time.