Tuesday, March 22, 2022

PROSCRIPTOR MCGOVERN’S APSÛ Premieres Lyric/Visualizer Video For “Every Watchtower Within Is The Axis Of A Watchtower Without”

PROSCRIPTOR MCGOVERN’S APSÛ Premieres Lyric/Visualizer Video For “Every Watchtower Within Is The Axis Of A Watchtower Without” (Abridged Single Version)

“Mythological occult metal” act Proscriptor McGovern’s Apsû premieres a lyric/visualizer video for the third single taken from their debut/self-titled album, which is out now on Agonia Records. The song and video “symbolize a Fourth–Dimensional Universe in two dimensions as a square surrounded by 30 concentric circles,” as commented by the band's founder, Proscriptor. Watch the video and learn more about its symbolism below.

PROSCRIPTOR MCGOVERN’S APSÛ - Every Watchtower Within Is The Axis Of A Watchtower Without (Video)

“The 30 concentric circles are known as the 30 Æthyrs or Aires,” Proscriptor continues. “The Watchtower Ritual (Liber Chanokh) consists of two ‘Adeptus Minor’ parts, which features an opening within and a closing without. The opening begins with three sacramental sections:

A) Invoking The Watchtowers (four quadrangle vibrations)
B) Rending The Veils (centralized self-placement of the multiverse)
C) Forming The Vortex (Crossing The Abyss)

Rending the veils places the ceremonialist to a South altar, which becomes the traversing process. Therefore, an anti–clockwise widdershin dissipates the vortex and the ritual’s temple is finally closed – classified as a totemic threshold. This lyrical machine, of the aforementioned topic, is so subtle that the most highly sensitized mind antennae cannot pick up its grossest vibrations. The spirit of magick remains inviolate, but the act of separating the self from any past shadow (and of fusing its essence with future semblance) is the act requiring noble skill – for it must be willfully achieved.”

Touted as one of the most important bands in the history of American Black Metal, Absu was dissolved by drummer/vocalist Proscriptor McGovern (Russ R. Givens) on January 27th, 2020, after 30 years of existence. Since the band’s last, unreleased album was to be penned as “Apsû,” McGovern fused the title with his name to form this new group, Proscriptor McGovern’s Apsû. Securing the ranks, alongside McGovern, are continuing bassist Ezezu (Absu: 2008-2020), new guitar virtuoso Vaggreaz (Possessed, Gruesome) and keyboardist Vorskaath (Zemial, Agatus).

The self-titled debut album was chronicled at studios around the world with final mixing handled in Dallas, Texas by both McGovern and J.T. Longoria (Absu, King Diamond, Solitude Aeternus) and mastering by Swedish Grammy nominee Karl Daniel Lidén in Sweden. The album also features guest appearances from Ross Friedman (Ross The Boss, ex-Manowar), Rune Eriksen (Aura Noir, Vltimas, ex-Mayhem), Alex Colin-Tocquaine (Agressor) and The Dark (Agatus). In assembling the album’s packaging, the band re-commissioned the expertise of renowned Polish artist Zbigniew Bielak (Darkthrone, Portal, Watain).

Track listing for “Proscriptor McGovern’s Apsû” is:
I. Amenta: Accelerando: Azyn including Hierophantasmal Expounder
II. Esoterically Excoriating The Exoteric
III. Quasaric Pestilence
IV. Mirroracles
V. In-Betweeness Gateway Commuters
VI. Jupiter In Capricornus
VII. Dedicated To Thoth, But Azathoth Wasn’t Listening (A Necroloquy)
VIII. Caliginous Whorl
IX. The Coagulating Respite
X. Prana: Therion: Akasha
XI. Tantrums Of Azag-Kkû
XII. Every Watchtower Within Is The Axis Of A Watchtower Without including Totemic Thresholds

Proscriptor McGovern – Drums/Percussion, Lyricism, Maestro Echoplex, Papago Flute, Digital Synthesizers & Voices (Protagonist/Dramatic Monologue Versus Omniscient/Interior Monologue)
Vorskaath – (Analogue & Digital) Synthesizers, Classical/Acoustic Guitar, Mellotron & Signal Generator
Vaggreaz – Electric Lead, Rhythm, Acoustic & Bass Guitar
Ezezû – Electric Bass Guitar & Implements

Photo credit: Scott Kincade & M. Zvyagina

PROSCRIPTOR MCGOVERN’S APSÛ - Proscriptor McGovern’s Apsû (Official Album Stream)

Official website:


Agonia Records:

Website: Webshop:

Tuesday, January 11, 2022

New Album Stream + Lyric Videos

For those that would like to preview the new PROSCRIPTOR MCGOVERN’S APSÛ album, you can do that here:

In addition, here are the official lyric videos for the following tracks:

"Prana: Therion: Akasha"

"Caliginous Whorl"